Author Topic: Elite 3200 Vs Nikon Monarch  (Read 1918 times)

Offline kc5rkg

• Trade Count: (0)
Elite 3200 Vs Nikon Monarch
« on: March 27, 2003, 03:30:28 AM »
Hello!

I think I have narrowed my search to these scopes.

Bushnell Elite 3200   2-7x32  $169
                              3-9x40  $179

Nikon Monarch         2-7x33  $248
                              3-9x40  $255

Now I have two questions about these.  One, Is the Monarch worth the $80 more than the Elite?  Two, Would you reccommend the 2-7 or the 3-9?  Does the 40mm objective give you a big advantage over the 32mm?
Thanks for your help!!

Scott

Offline chk

• Avid Poster
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2003, 04:22:35 AM »
IMHO I'd go with the 2x7 for a greater field of view and they can be mounted lower on most rifles. I have no experience with either brand. I did buy a 3x9 Monarch for my son and he said it's as bright and clear as his Leupold Vari X III 2x8 if not better. If you can afford the more expensive scope I'd go with it since there's no free lunch in optics. As for your question on objective diameter the rule of thumb is divide the highest magnification into the objective lens diameter. That number is the exit pupil diameter. The human eye's pupil dialates to about 6mm on adults. The closer to that size the better.Over 8 or 9mm is good but only so much light will be let into the eye before the pupil starts to close. The 2x7 has a slight edge using this method.     Dave

Offline Zachary

« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2003, 04:31:45 AM »
Let me directly anwer your questions:

One, Is the Monarch worth the $80 more than the Elite?

Answer:  YES!  The Monarch is the equivalent to the Elite 4200 (not the 3200).  If you want to compare the 3200, it should be to the Nikon Buckmaster line.  The Monarch (although it doesn't have the rainguard feature) it simply has much better glass than the 3200.

Two, Would you reccommend the 2-7 or the 3-9?