Author Topic: Loading data from scratch  (Read 1029 times)

Offline M8ball

• Trade Count: (0)
Loading data from scratch
« on: April 06, 2006, 12:06:24 PM »
Hello.  I've been handloading for several years now, thinking about building a custom rifle chambered in a wildcat round. I've got enough
basic knowledge to have a rough understanding of figuring out what
powders and charges would be appropriate for my project based on similar cases, but I'm wondering how you guys go about determining a safe starting load.  Is an internal ballistics software package like Quickload the tool of choice or is there a better source?

My wildcat is essentially a .221 Fireball or .222 Rem necked to .257", but with a very long neck.  I've used loading data for the .25-20, .256 WM, .257 Kimber and an Excel spreadsheet with the Powley formula to bracket what SHOULD work: i.e, H4227 or H4198.  

The action used will be a Remington Model 7 or 700 shortaction.

Any help will be appreciated.

Offline PaulS

« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2006, 10:53:43 PM »
M8ball,

If you can find a cartridge with a similar case capacity in the same bore diameter then you have a place to start. If not the if you use the parent case (as long as you have increased the bore diameter) you can use the same load data to start and work up from there.
The thing about wildcats is that you have to use some common sense in what is going to limit your pressure range. If you are using a strong bolt action then case and velocity will be the limiting factors. (case failure and bore errosion) If you are using a lever action then you might be concerned about the action. If you are using a falling or rolling block action then you are limited by the action more than anything else. With a break-open action then thrust is going to be the limiting factor.