Author Topic: Shaving sides off of bullets....  (Read 549 times)

Offline huntswithdogs

• Trade Count: (1)
  • A Real Regular
Shaving sides off of bullets....
« on: April 20, 2006, 03:13:48 AM »
I loaded my first cast bullets the other nite and kept having shavings of lead at the ends of the shell after pushing the bullet in. I cleaned /scraped it off prior to crimping. It kinda bothered me some. I don't know if I should have belled the ends of my cases more or what. I'm loading 45LC using Lee carbide dies.

Any info ,critisism ,advice ,etc would be greatly appreciated.

Oh yeah, I've been reloading for about 20 years but have always used jacketed bullets for rifles and shortguns.

Thanks

HWD

Offline Sixgun

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2006, 04:07:27 AM »
You need to bell your cases a little more.  This may shorten case life a little but at least your shots will be accurate.  You may need to take more care when placing the bullets in the case, before you seat them.  Make sure they are straight in before you seat them.

Another thing to check is your case length.  If the cases are different lengths, the bell will not be the same on all of them.  Short cases may not get any bell at all.  That is why some bullets go in just fine and some shave lead.  

Sixgun
You can only hit the target if the barrel is pointed in the right direction when the bullet leaves the barrel.

Offline huntswithdogs

• Trade Count: (1)
  • A Real Regular
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2006, 07:32:51 AM »
Hey Sixgun,