Author Topic: Weatherby buying Winchester?  (Read 1689 times)

Offline shilo

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Weatherby buying Winchester?
« on: April 23, 2006, 04:27:39 PM »
The rumer mill has been running - is Weatherby buying Winchester?

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2006, 05:32:23 PM »
I thought the conditions being put on the sale was the buyer had to be a manufacturer. Strictly speaking Weatherby is NOT a manufacturer. All their guns are out sourced.

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline tscott

• Trade Count: (1)
  • A Real Regular
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2006, 05:27:15 AM »
I hope this is true. I love my Japanese Weatherby's. What an action the Mark V is. I consider myself an extreme patriot, a vet. I stopped supporting sub par labor 20 years ago. the track record of Weatherby for me is that Ed Weatherby would make sure m70's were done right!

Offline Winter Hawk

• Trade Count: (47)
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2006, 01:16:59 PM »
I saw a headline the other day (didn't read the article) of S&W possibly buying Winchester.  Rumours are flying!
"All you need for happiness is a good gun, a good horse and a good wife." - D. Boone

Offline msorenso

• A Real Regular
« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2006, 10:40:27 AM »
Unless it has changed the last thing I read was that they gave the pass.
LIVE FREE OR DIE

Offline white feather

« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2006, 04:03:12 PM »
Gentlemen

This is why nobody is picking up Winchester, take it for what its worth.
The building is 140 years old or there about, it is in dire need of repair, and being that old it falls under guidelines by both federal and state regulations of how the repair has to be done, its a historical building so it has to stay 90% in the original condition.