Author Topic: range qualification  (Read 481 times)

Offline urrlord

• Trade Count: (0)
range qualification
« on: May 22, 2006, 03:22:48 AM »
i'm a correctional officer and a few days ago we got to have our once a year fun--shooting range.well this year the state of georgia decided that all law enforcement will shoot the same basic range course.up until now we used 3,7,10 ,15 ,20 yard free standing shoot with 2 shooting from cover positions at  the 20 line.this year it is 3,7,15,20 yard positions.20 -2 positions from cover,15- standing and kneeling,7-2 shoot-move-shoot positions and 3- free standing including 2"failure to halt/obey" called shots ( we call'em headshots).we also used smaller targets this year and a new ready position where the gun is held against the chest pointing forward(looks really stupid).the guns used were sw 38's w/158 gr swc's and speedloaders.after an hour and a half of lecture from the new range officer. who told us that it was an easy course while pointing out that no one had yet shot a 100,and that he would buy lunch for whoever did.some not so subtle pressure.i usually shot well on the old course but i kept quiet.after an hour of dry fire w/dummy rounds we got live ammo.after the 30 rounds were fired and i was scored by one of the instructors--98.6 i dropped 2 rds in the 8 score area the other 28 rds were 10 pointers.the new range instructor gave it  a second look while walking by.when i turned in my weapon he said he would have to check his records but thought that i had the high score out of the 5 prisons who train there.  hehehehe :twisted:

Offline Dusty Miller

range qualification
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2006, 06:33:26 AM »
That's good shoot'n for sure.  Now, what state and what prison so I can avoid pursuing my criminal life style around you? :-D
When seconds mean life or death, the police are only minutes away!

Offline mr.frosty

• Trade Count: (3)
  • A Real Regular
range qualification
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2006, 10:24:27 AM »