Author Topic: Hern barrels and the start of a million questions  (Read 1431 times)

Offline rusty barrels

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Hern barrels and the start of a million questions
« on: June 07, 2006, 09:39:44 AM »
I'm brand new to this and all I can say WOW. I can see I have a whole bunch of learning to do, so please bare with me if I ask questions that have been addressed a million times before. Does Hern barrels have a good rep and are they steel lined (I'm looking at the 2/3 1841 field gun).Also I've noticed some barrels have a chamber or plug that is greatly reduced from the rest of the bore why, and how do you know if the powder is fully packed there? These questions are just a start. Thanks

Offline Rickk

• GBO Supporter
    • http://www.lioby.com
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2006, 10:36:50 AM »
with the exception of the huge bowling ball mortar that Hern makes, I believe they are all made with a seemless liner with a welded breech plate on the liner, which is then cast around with cast iron to form the finished product. You should e-mail Joel at Hern Iron Works about the specific barrel you have in mind.

I have a Hern Coehorn. I have only fired it a few times, and have had no issues with it to date. The liner is very well centered, and I can not see any problems from what I can see with my eyes. . I have not x-rayed the barrel, so I cannot tell you one way or the other about what I can't see.

The Hern barrels tend to be substantially sub-bored as conpaired to a tradional nore size, so the bore to wall thickness ratio is generally very substantial. I don't recall the specifics of the barrel you are talking about, but Hern uses 2.25 inch ID, 1/2 inch thick seemless liners for lots of their pieces

For what it is worth, I would think that the cast 90# Coehorn barrel  is easier to not screw up that a 300-500 pound barrel. That being the case, a review of the barrel you are specifically looking for would be worth waiting for.