Author Topic: Hard casting......whats the difference?  (Read 1408 times)

Offline kombi1976

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
Hard casting......whats the difference?
« on: June 10, 2006, 06:33:27 AM »
So far my gun locker is made up of high powered rifles and as such I've been using jacketted projectiles but I'm looking at cartridges like 375 Win, 38-55, 40-65, 444 Marlin and 45-70 where the term "hard cast bullets" seems to arise so often.
So here's a few dumb questions from a guy who is a complete beginner to casting:
Is there a different process used for hard casting?
Can you do it yourself?
Is the alloy different?
How much difference does it actually make on game, especially really big game?
Thanks, lads. :wink:
8)

Cheers & God Bless

.22lr ~ 22 Hornet ~ 25-20 ~ 303/25 ~ 7mm-08 ~ 303 British ~ 310 Cadet ~ 9.3x62 ~ 450/400 NE 3"

Offline Dusty Miller

« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2006, 08:13:23 AM »
The phrase "hard-cast bullet" is by-in-large a marketing term.  What constitutes a "hard" bullet is primarily up to the individual.  My #2 allow normally drops a 12 BHN bullet (according to my LBT tester) but if I drop'm into water they come out in the neighborhood of 15 BHN.  I'm not sure if that's considered "hard-cast" by many but with a gas check on the bottom they don't lead my barrel but very little and I've shot some real screamers thru my .44 mag and 454 Casull.  I know some folks use a lot of antimony in their mix and come up with bullets in the 20+ BHN range but my guess is they are pretty brittle, could be wrong (I've been wrong before, as my wife more or less constantly points out!!).
When seconds mean life or death, the police are only minutes away!

Offline kombi1976

• GBO Supporter
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2006, 11:23:09 PM »
Is your wife friends with mine? :(  :lol:
I have used some cast bullets for Martini Cadet Sporter in 25-20 but it left unburnt powder all over the joint and shot like a dog, and an arthritic old dog at that.