Author Topic: Annealing fired 22 cases  (Read 1936 times)

Offline DFrame

• Trade Count: (0)
Annealing fired 22 cases
« on: August 03, 2006, 04:18:12 PM »
Hi. Another Noob here.
I'm interested in finding out what I can about using fired 22 cases for bullet jackets.  Corbin makes it sound Sooooo easy.  I am just starting out and will gradually be getting the pieces and parts I need. My question concerns annealing the 22 cases. Corbin says you can use a propane torch to heat,  then allow to cool.  Is this any where near as simple as the book makes it seem.  Seems to me this is a bit imprecise. How long are the jackets kept at that temperature? How do you know they're AT the right temperature?  How to you keep from burning the jackets? Do you stack them on a cookie sheet?  Do you put them in your case polisher afterward?
I'm really unsure of any of this.  I will add that I'm an experianced reloader(do you get experianced in 35 years of reloading?) and have no qualms about trying something new.  I'm primarily planning on making bullets for my own use and perhaps one or two friends who have AR addictions.

Offline talon

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (4)
  • A Real Regular
Re: Annealing fired 22 cases
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2006, 05:33:23 PM »