Author Topic: Pyrodex pellets in C & B revolver  (Read 1373 times)

Offline Chappy

• Trade Count: (0)
Pyrodex pellets in C & B revolver
« on: September 25, 2006, 02:59:12 AM »
I am just getting into cap and ball revolver shooting and picked up a Pietta steel 1858 Rem. .44 caliber target revolver at Cabela's.
The clerk advised using black powder or pyrodex ONLY, NO other black powder substitutes, especially not 777, as they were too powerful for these guns.  What is everyone's opinion of that statement?  I love 777 in my T/C Omega and would like to use a cleaner power in the C & B revolver.

Also, the clerk suggested the 44/30 pyrodex pellets and wads under the balls as a convenient way to load C & B revolvers.  Have any of you tried this? If so, how did it work?

Thanks in advance for your opinions and advice!

Offline R.M.

Re: Pyrodex pellets in C & B revolver
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2006, 10:12:42 AM »
I, personaly think you got some "BUM" advise. Yes, 777 is hotter than the rest, but you just use less of it, somewhere around 15% less.  I use 777 in all my C&B revolvers. Don't like Pyrodex, and true "Black" can be difficult to find in some places.

Just this old man's thoughts on it.
R.M.
The tree of liberty must be watered periodically with the blood of tyrants and patriots alike..........Thomas Jefferson

Offline Uncle Howie

« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2006, 04:09:53 AM »
I've used the Pyrodex pellets with a Wonder Wad in my Ruger Old Army. It's convenient and works fine.

There are cheaper ways to shoot, as the pellets can get expensive and the wad adds a nickel or so to the cost of each shot.

I normally use Pyrodex "P" and grease over the balls.

I need to try the 777... so many loads, so little time...

Offline Flint

« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2006, 09:01:57 PM »
I have used Pyrodex 30gr pellets in the Uberti 1860 Army and they work fine.